I gained weight.

One thing I’m struggling with right now is the fact that I am gaining weight.

About 8 pounds.  I know…you’re thinking 8 pounds…hmmm.  That’s not a lot.  But for someone who started this fitness journey at 100 pounds, this weight gain is really freaking me out.  I guess it’s because most people measure their fitness achievements in weight loss.  Maybe I didn’t have anything to lose?

I know that I have been eating really healthy, have cut out alcohol-ish (except on special occasions), and have kept my daily caloric intake between 1300-1700 calories.  I also workout about five times a week, and this isn’t the typical “get on the elliptical and sweat a little” workout; if I’m not doing Les Mills BodyPump, BodyAttack or CXWorks, then I’m running at least a 5k or lifting on my own.

I’m not 100 percent sure, but I’m pretty sure that this weight gain can can only be attributed to muscle growth.  And maybe because I’m working outside for a few hours everyday in the heat – I’m drinking more water and I feel like my body is swelling…can a person’s body swell from warm/hot temperatures?

Anyways, aside from trying to eat healthier and in a way that will fuel my activity level, my workouts have intensified in the past year.  I know I’m gaining muscle; the way my body is cut is very different than it was last summer.  I actually have abdominal muscles now, which protrude a bit on my tiny stomach.  This is new.  When you go from being skinny and having no stomach to having muscles grow where they have never been, it’s a little weird and I’m not exactly sure how to feel about it.

My body has changed (and is changing) into what I can only describe as an “athletic build”.  I was never “cut” before, and now I can really make out the definition in certain areas without flexing.  During BodyPump, I look at myself in the mirror and ask, “Is this the girl who used to despise fitness?”  She is now obsessed.  She now has definition.  What happened to this girl who was afraid to sweat?

I’m also so much stronger and faster.  I never thought I would be capable of doing some of the things I do in the gym or on runs.  And to be quite honest, I didn’t even know this level of fitness existed.  Now, I’m really getting intense in my workouts and pushing myself to the max.  And I love the way it makes me feel.  I love being fast.  I love lifting challenging weight in BodyPump or not taking a break and going all out during Attack.  The pool of sweat on the floor is proof that I’m working hard.  It’s like I’m proving that I can do what once wasn’t possible.

But I’m still adjusting to the changes I see in my body.

If I showed you a before and after photo, you might even think, “Hey she looks BIGGER after“.  So I have this dilemma because I don’t feel like I’m being a good fitness example.  Sure, I’m strong and my endurance is great, but I feel like there’s nothing to show in terms of weight loss.  I’m also not eating like a rabbit, because I am a foodie, and I workout to be able to enjoy good food (yes, like pork belly and fried things).  This means that I’m not all muscle because my dietary habits aren’t all carrots and celery.  You get what I’m saying?

So that’s my dilemma.

Question: Are there any tiny people out there who have put on weight and muscle since working out?  Did it bother you?  Was it visible?  Did you change your routine at all?

On a more positive note, at least I could probably reach the required weight to give blood now – 110 pounds!

9 thoughts on “I gained weight.

  1. I completely get what you’re saying. Weight gain, especially if you’re working out, doesn’t signify an increase in fat but muscle mass like you said. And the fact that you’re lifting, you’re bound to see the changes you notice, taking place.

    WRT bloating, the body does retain water, and more so during certain times of the month, especially nearing the end of a cycle. I hear that reducing and eventually stopping the consumption of salt after 7pm really does help because we know salt retains water.

    Taking your routine as an inspiration! 🙂

    1. Thanks for the kind words! I will definitely try with the no salt after 7 pm, but I find that around 9 pm I always get hungry and want chips or crackers!

  2. I know just what you’re saying!! It put me off exercise so many times because I’d start and then gain weight and become really unmotivated. I just threw the scales away for a while instead, its much better for my peace of mind 🙂

    1. I know! Ugh the stupid scale! I had stayed away from it for a while but was feeling really in shape and weighed myself. Bad idea. I definitely need to measure my lean muscle, but not sure if my gym does it for free.

  3. My daughter is a competitive figure skater and she’s half Korean so she is very petite but she is probably one of the heaviest girls in her group of friends, despite being the thinnest. All that muscle makes a huge difference. Keep up the good work, sounds like you are doing an amazing job! Ignore the scale.

  4. Yes, yes, yes! I hear every word you’re saying. I’m 5’4 and I went from a skinny body to a more athletic build since I work out and eat right. It’s all muscle.

    Instead of a hourglass waist with noticeable hip bones, I now have a box-ier waist that’s full of hard muscle.

    When this happened, it was a little unexpected, and I freaked out … a lot … for 1 year.

    I now realized and with proper education and a new found confidence, my fit and athletic body is mine and will keep me healthy. More healthy than my frail body I had before did – and yeah, there are times I still miss it but I know that my body strength is way sexier.

    Check out this link, picture does it all for me … https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc1/p480x480/300805_308818002461963_1384757245_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

