Free Bread

Free bread is a true indicator of a restaurant’s greatness.

I mean, like, let’s be real here, who really finds a hardened loaf of pre-sliced white “Italian” bread appealing?  Why even bring it out to the table in the first place.  It says one thing about your food establishment: cheap.  Maybe lazy, but definitely cheap.

There’s my rant on table bread.

But really, let’s talk about free bread.

Recently, I went to Zorba’s Greek restaurant, one of my family’s go-to places for a nice meal when we can’t think of any place else to go.  Which is silly because Richmond has a gazillion restaurants.  But it’s like writer’s block…foodie’s block, I guess.  Eh.  We also like it because it’s close to my parent’s house.  Yes, I’m crazy about this Greek place located in a little strip mall in suburbia.  Maybe it’s because of their free bread.  Hot, yeasty honey glazed rolls right out of the oven.  These rolls, which I will have to describe in great detail since I failed to get a picture, are puffy circles of dough that bake up to be the size of your forehead.  They are, and only are, served warm.  And they are probably 400 calories each…but I digress.  I care, but you know, life is short, and sometimes I don’t really care.

Zorba’s was also voted #3 best Greek restaurant in Richmond Magazine’s Best of 2012.  I personally think it should have at least been #2.  But that’s just me.  I’m also kind of obsessed with restaurants where the owner is ever-present and remembers your name even if you only visit every few months.  It’s just good patron care and goes a long way.

Oh, side note alert!  In 2011, Zorba’s caught on fire, and the entire restaurant was closed for a while.  Now that it is open again, it is completely renovated and really pretty!  Definitely a date night place.  Of course, It’d be great to have someone to go to date night with…yeah, I’m digressing again.

Anyways, cutting to the good stuff.  This is what we ate:

photo (1)

From upper right and clockwise…
Pastichio (the thing that looks like lasagna): Ziti noodles, bechamel, ground beef layered pie topped with meat sauce and parmesan cheese
Medallions of Lamb Tenderloin: Tereyaki demiglaze and garlic mashed potatoes
Pasta A La Greek: Baked with feta and mozerella cheese (choice of sauce)
Veal (something): Spinach and cheese ravioli, mozzarella cheese and prosciutto

It was all really, really yummy (so descriptive, I know).  More descriptive: The different flavors in each dish really stand out but come together perfectly.  More importantly: The Pasta A La Greek will last you about 5 meals.  Their garlic mashed potatoes are my favorite anywhere.  Is this sounding like an overly thought out Yelp! review yet?  Okay.  I’ll stop.  Just, if you live in the RVA area, go, try it!  And report back what you think.  Cause I’m sure in love.

If you’re interested in trying Zorba’s Greek, here are the details:

9068 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23294 – (804) 270-6026

http://www.richmondzorbas.com/

P.S.  There’s this awesome homemade gelato shop in the shopping center across the street.  Gelati Celeste.  Like they make this heavenly goodness in the back of the shop.  There are zero calories in this ice cream!  I…promise ;). It too, has been around forever, and is absolutely amazing.  We’ve been going since I was a little girl.  I love the banana gelato.  They just recently started taking credit card; I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wanted this deliciousness and didn’t have cash on me.

You must go here.  Trust me.

8906 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23294 – (804) 346-0038

http://www.gelatiicecream.com/

Happy Eating! And where have you had good free bread?!

6 thoughts on “Free Bread

  1. I LOVE ZORBAS! I haven’t been there in forever but was totally thinking about it the other day! And Gelati Celeste. I used to go there after my two hour ballet class every Friday afternoon. So good. Damn you’re taking me back…

    • It’s the best! I think their food has gotten even better since the renovations. Pretty sure I’m gonna hit up some gelati celeste next time I go back to Richmond 🙂

  2. I feel you on the whole bread thing. Not a great way to start a palate out (carb and butter) before grubbing on some [hopefully] good food.

    I will give Zorba’s another try – I wasn’t impressed on my first visit but maybe didn’t order the right thing.

Leave a Reply

