Twenty-Five Dollars

I’ve (only) got twenty dollars in my pocket.

No, really, I do.  That’s it.

It’s been a while since I’ve been thrifting, and just as long since I’ve done a related post.  So, first off, I want to thank my fellow thrifty bloggers that follow me for my second-hand content for their patience.  It’s been difficult to find time to thrift with most of my time spent staring at a computer screen at my desk job that I enjoy so, so much (sarcasm? can you hear it?), and sitting in traffic for hours on my daily commute picking my nose and watching other people pick their noses.  Okay, I don’t really pick my nose, but you get what I mean.

I’m also poor and trying not to depend on my parents for support.  Not like, living on the streets poor, but not able to spend $40 on anything besides food, gas, rent and bills right now.  Living in DC is expensive and it sucks every dollar out of me.  And why do they charge more for things up here?  Because they can.  That’s why.

And as much as I love thrifting, I need to limit the amount of material items I accumulate right now.  I’m thinking about going abroad to teach English at some point in the near future.  I haven’t talked about it on my blog because it’s still something I’m researching and nothing is set in stone.  However, a move like that means cutting back on purchasing things I might not necessarily need at this point in my life.

Anyways, I did have a thrifting adventure a few weeks ago with my mom at Diversity Thrift in Richmond, Virginia.  And well, she was the one with the twenty dollars in her pocket, or, in our case, the AmEx card.  I was mostly looking for clothes, because that’s actually something I can use.

And what did I get?

PicCollage-3

Blue Cropped Blouse $2.25 (with white shorts I already had)

PicCollage-2

NYC & Co. Orange Tunic $3

I also got a great dress jacket for work for $3 – not pictured because it’s at the dry cleaner, and a Gap light blue tank that ties in the front for $2.25.  I’ll update with pictures of these items when I can.

And then came the “Holiday Room”.  Somewhere a sign was posted with “Fill an entire basket for $3”.  Trouble?  Possibly.  Did we need more stuff?  No.  Yes.  The answer is always yes.

The most exciting part of this room is that the Diversity Thrift staff had just thrown boxes into the 8×8 ft. room without ever going through them.  So it was essentially a treasure hunt.  And for a thrifter, when you’re digging through a box and come across a smaller department store box circa 1960, you get excited.  Unfortunately, that box turned out to be bows.  But another box was filled with really neat glass Christmas ornaments.

PicCollage-1

They came in this Harry & David box marked “pretty/interesting”

PicCollage

The red and blue cracked glass are my favorite! The ones with dots are hand blown, And a UVA ornament? (Boooo) – pretty sure these all cost more than $3 at one point…

We also found some awesome 50 cent heavy duty wrapping paper.  I found this lovely pier one roll with images of SE Asia on it, which I’d love to put in a frame and make into wall art.  Ideas, ideas!

Mom also got some neat things that day, however, I can’t remember what they were.  Mom, what did you get?  I know you read this!  🙂  Thrifting has turned out to be a really fun mother-daughter thing for us!  And also, who doesn’t like getting a bargain?

I think our total bill came to $25.  We had two large paper grocery bags full of neat things.  I mean seriously, how much can you really do with $25 nowadays?

Afterwards, we went to Kitchen 64 for drinks and some yummy nachos!  Yay for mother-daughter thrifting days!

What neat items have you thrifted lately?  Do you usually go for clothes or housewares?  Does your mom (or dad) share a thrifting passion too?  Oh, and what fun things can you do for $25?

Happy Thrifting!

Update: Also for that $25, my mom got 4 name-brand dress shirts for my dad, as well as some other holiday decorations!

6 thoughts on “Twenty-Five Dollars

Leave a Reply

