58:10 (x 2)

I’m not very fast.  In fact, my running pace is just enough to be considered “running”.

But running isn’t about beating the person next to you; it’s about accomplishing something for yourself.  It’s about improving your personal speed by five seconds every week.  It’s about running just .5 mile more without stopping than you did yesterday.

Our bodies are all different, and no matter how great of shape you’re in, sometimes you just aren’t able to run a 7 minute mile.  Even if you’re at a 10 minute (or more)/mile pace, you’re still running.  And that’s amazing.

Two weekends ago, on April 13th, I got to run in the Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10k, which is one of my favorite races.  When I first ran this race in Spring 2011, I fell in love.  It was (and still has been) one of my longest races at 6.2 miles.  The first year I ran, it was pretty chilly, and then last year, it was drizzly and cool (my favorite running weather), but this year, it was a beautiful, sunny 60 degree day.

photo
Qualified to run in a seeded wave this year!
image (1)
Starting line
image
One of America’s Premier Races!

The Monument Avenue 10k is such a friendly race, and I believe it is in the top 10 of America’s most popular races.  There were 32,000 runners to complete the race this year!  It’s also incredibly organized with like 30 something start-time waves, a lot of water stops, a post-race party and meeting area, shuttles to the race, and even a bike valet!  It is run down and back one of America’s only historically recognized streets, Monument Avenue, which is absolutely beautiful and dotted with a handful of monuments recognizing great American leaders.  Part of it is run on cobblestones, which makes for a more challenging course, but it is relatively flat.  It is a wonderful “first” race, if you are looking for something longer than a 5k or have been running for a while, and trust me, if you’ve never done a race before, you will be addicted to running afterwards.  There are also walker waves – it’s a family friendly race!

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 5.25.45 PM
Happy Runner?

The community support along the route is amazing.  People standing on the sidewalk, cheering, clapping…clowns, cheerleaders, dancers, great signs like “I’d run, but who would hold this sign!” and “Free beer for quitters” (people are partying on their front decks and balconies along the course).  I see red solo cups and I run faster, if you know what I mean.  Bands line the street, bubbles are in the air.  It’s so much fun.  I am also really proud of my hometown for putting together an organized, exciting race every year that thousands come to participate in.  Great job RVA!  And props to SportsBackers, the non-profit that organizes many of the region’s races!

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 5.26.45 PM
Sweaty Asian Runner?
image (3)
American Gothic runners? These two won first place in the “Dress Up and Run” contest…and they ran the 10k holding the frame just like this!

Okay, to be honest, about mile 4, you might feel like you’re dying and want to quit.  But it’s still fun.

I really hadn’t set a “goal” time this year because I didn’t have a lot of time to train.  Of course, as a runner, we all like to do better than our previous PR (Personal Record).  And I ended up being decently happy with my time which was…

58 minutes, 10 seconds.  The exact same time as last year.  To the second.  Well, at least I can say I’m consistent.  However, my 5k split was faster, which bodes well for future 5k races!

image (2)
Yay! Finished!

Mom and Dad drove me to the race and watched this year.  Also, they probably saw me at my worst, at like mile 5.5 when I was kind of dying a little.  Still, it was great to have their support!

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 5.27.30 PM
Mom, the non-runner.

And then, I rode a runner’s high for the rest of the afternoon before the soreness hit the next day.  Runner’s high = Best feeling in the entire world.  I drove back to the DC area on Monday, but since I’ve been back, I’ve been nursing some weird stomach issue and haven’t felt like running, but I feel like I’m finally getting back to normal.  I’m excited to lace up my shoes for my next run though.  Maybe the next race will be a half-marathon? Maybe? Who knows!

Happy running!

2 thoughts on “58:10 (x 2)

Leave a Reply

