Traffic Makes Me Panicky

Coming home from a meeting and Trader Joe’s last night, I found this beauty down by the garbage bins.

photo(1)
Anybody need a bathtub?

On an unrelated note, I am starting to go crazy with my daily commute.  Apparently the average one-way commute time for a person living in the DMV (District, Maryland, Virginia) area is 45 minutes.  Mine has become 40 minutes to work in the morning, and, on a good day, 1 hour in the afternoon.  Before I moved to Arlington and was living in Vienna, the commute was around 25 minutes in the morning and about 45 minutes in the afternoon, but I was tired of living in suburbia.  Everyone is like, “Why don’t you move closer to work?”  I reply, frustratedly, “I didn’t move to DC to live on the outskirts of the city…I could have stayed in Richmond and done that!”  And also, this is a temp job, why on earth would I move, sign a lease (or whatever) to work a temp job?  People, come on now.  And it’s not even the distance, it’s the gridlock that I honestly hate.  Stop. Go. Stop. Go. STOP.  Like yesterday, it took me 1.5 hours to get from Chantilly to Clarendon for a volunteer meeting I went to after work.  I was almost late.   That should be like, a 30 minute drive without traffic, max.  It is sucking the life out of me.  We don’t have to worry about the zombie apocolypse sucking the life out of us, we already have that, it’s called traffic in Northern Virginia.

photo(1)
This is not fun.

I am trying so incredibly hard not to make this one of those “my life sucks…poor me” blogs, but traffic gives me a lot of anxiety.  I get up in the morning and am already depressed because I know the commutes I am about to face for the day.  I thought I had experienced bad traffic around Richmond in rush hour.  Um no.  The “traffic” in Richmond is like the normally moving traffic for this area.  I think this factors into my “control” anxiety I have about certain things.  I hate gridlock; I feel stuck and panicky.  I seriously don’t know how much more of my daily commute I can take…it is literally turning me into a zombie.  I miss walking to work 😦

If anybody deals with a similar commute, how do you put up with it?!

Happy Commuting! Naht.

I promise the next post will be all puppies and unicorns and mason jars.

Just needed to vent.

2 thoughts on “Traffic Makes Me Panicky

  1. Traffic isn’t my favorite either – I chuckle a little when Richmonders complain about “traffic” – I know DC and Houston (where I’m from) is horrific for its traffic.

    At least it makes for good people watching. Whenever I’m stuck in a pile up, I look at other drivers and try to guess what their name would be … it’s quite hilarious.

Leave a Reply

