Run, run to the treadmill, as fast as you can!

I’ve been trying to get my workouts done in the AM so I can go home in the evenings and relax/get things done/cook, etc.  This morning, I woke up at 4:45 am (I was already weirdly awake and couldn’t get back to sleep), and headed down to the gym.  The place I moved has workout facilities, which are really like one treadmill, a stationary bike, and some weight machines from the 1970s.  It sucks when you want to use the treadmill and someone is on it, but usually I can find it free.  The other apartment buildings in the complex have workout rooms, but the treadmills are on uneven ground and they make a horrible noise (the one in my building is on carpet).  It’s so convenient to be able to go down to the basement, or run on the W&OD trail right near the apartment when the weather is nice.

Here’s one issue:  There’s this older lady with a severe attitude problem who, when she saw me enter the workout room this past Monday morning at 6 am, told me that ‘nobody ever comes down to the gym that early except her, and she needs to use the treadmill and walk for an hour because she has an injury’…and implied, ‘don’t try to use the treadmill in the morning’ between 5:30 am –  7 am.  If she didn’t have such an attitude the first time she spoke to me, I maybe would adjust my workouts, to fit her needs, but,  I, too need the treadmill in the morning.  If I get the treadmill first, I’m going to use it until I am done.  You snooze, you lose! Wow, DC has turned me into a biatch, huh?  I kind of felt a little bad because I was on mile 2 when she came in…she asked how much longer I would be just as I was hitting my runner’s high, and I told her 10 minutes, and it ended up being 20.  Hey! I was having a good run that turned into 4.25 miles!  I figure that if I can start my run at 5:15 am, she can use the machine at 6 am, which was when she started using it the first time I saw her.  Oh, and can I also say, she brings in a radio with a 2 foot antenna that has to be plugged in.  Classy.

Anyways, I’m trying to do this morning thing because I’ve been lacking some serious willpower to spend another 2 hours in the gym after a long workday; my energy levels are really low, and I also have a problem with feeling nourished enough to have a satisfying workout.  I also am a huge grouch at the end of the day and the gym feels like a huge chore.  But this morning, once I started going, I felt so calm and clear-minded.

I’m also training for the Monument Ave 10k, which is my favorite race ever! It’s seriously so much fun, and this year, I’m starting in a 58 minute seeded wave.  Hopefully, I can beat my PR from last year, but if I don’t, it’s not the end of the world.

Kind of unrelated to this morning but…I  have an extreme love-hate relationship with running.

Running is so awesome.  I love a good runners high around mile 2.5.  I love that I can listen to my own music and jam out during a run!  I love that I can measure my improvement by speed and distance, and I can see visible changes both negative and positive.  I love when I can run outside and in nature…looking at trees and flowers, or shops and pretty houses.  It makes you feel strong and healthy and can be exhilarating at times.  And when you are done, all is good with the world.  Races are so much fun, all the supportive people cheering you on, the chance to run for a good cause, free goodies…and you get to compete against yourself – be your personal best.

Issues I have with running:  Hard on knees and ankles; seasonal (I just want to run outside in the mid 60s!); some days are good and some days really suck and you can’t be fast; treadmills are dreadmills;  can get boring; for some reason, it makes my stomach hurt so I have to watch what I eat before I run.

Anyways, do you workout/run in the morning? How do you motivate yourself to get up and going? How would you deal with the old grouchy lady (talk to her, ignore her, make some compromise, get to the treadmill before her)? What are your favorite songs to jam out to on a run (right now I’m loving some Armin Van Buuren!)?

5 thoughts on “Run, run to the treadmill, as fast as you can!

  1. It belongs to who gets there first, she probably does not work, butnif she is fat you may want to run faster, ha

    Brenda HuYoung

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Just get there first and if she says anything again, politely tell her that the treadmill is for the entire building and this is your only time to work out. She sounds horrible. Also, I have problems with food/morning workouts! What do you do?? Drink juice before and then solid food later? I never know what to do.

    1. Hi Liz! Thanks for stopping by my blog and thanks for the advice on dealing with this lady! As for running in the morning, I even have to be careful about what I eat the night before or can get a stomach ache. In the mornings though, I usually stick to having 1/2 a banana before my run and maybe a whole wheat mini bagel with peanut butter. I’m also a big fan of “shot blocks” that Cliff Bar makes. They are these little jelly chews that are meant to provide energy. So if you don’t want to eat a ton in the morning, but want to make sure you have the nutrients to get through your workout, I definitely suggest them! I know you can get them at Target.

  3. I love, love running too. But I’m pretty moody about it as well. Sometimes it’s the best thing ever and at other times it’s such a chore. But it’s the most exhilarating ever. And omg, I’m an AvB fan… his music’s quite there if one wants a pepped up workout. 🙂

Leave a Reply

