Moving On

I moved!  I finally got out of the dreary dungeon basement that I had been sleeping on an air mattress in for the past four months.  The basement room was originally found on Craigslist and it also happened one of my coworkers lived in the house as well.  It wasn’t as bad as I make it seem, however, the basement was always freezing and I constantly ran a space heater to keep the temperature at a balmy 65 degrees F.  Living there was really noisy (it was located right next to I-66), the room had no real door (used a curtain), and I didn’t feel really safe living near a metro and having an outside door in the basement.  I also didn’t have a guaranteed parking space, and if I came back late at night, would have to park on the street or even at the metro and it was a huge hassle.

And as awesome as my housemates were, it just wasn’t the ideal living situation.  Because they were all guys, it was hard to relate sometimes.  Not sure if it’s like this for others, but where I live can have a huge impact on how I feel.  When I was living in the basement, I was in a huge slump.  I didn’t care to get out of bed in the morning because it was always so dark, I didn’t care to make myself look presentable for work…I just didn’t care and was in a horrible mood.  And when I finally moved, it was like a huge weight was lifted and I felt purposeful again.  But it’s situations like this where we learn how to overcome adversity and things we don’t like and move on from them a better person.

photo(1)

My new room + real bed + cat

So now, I’m living “inside the beltway” off of Arlington Boulevard near Eden Center, which is like Vietnamtown in Northern Virginia.  I get to live in a highrise condo, with a secure entrance, my own bedroom and bathroom (with a  bathtub – score!), two friendly cats, and a great female roommate.  I can see downtown Arlington from the apartment, as well as the Washington Monument and Capitol Building in the distance.

image 111

WM = Washington Monument C = Capitol Building (The other white dot in the sky is an airplane leaving Reagan Airport) – this is clearer in person

 The rent is the same, but includes utilities, so I am just paying for internet/cable.  And because the utilities are included, we turn the heat up – so I went from living in 65 F to 75 F and I love it!  And I finally have a real mattress (things we take for granted)!  And there’s parking, a pool in the summer, a convenience store, fitness facilities…condo living.  The only downside is my commute to work is 15 minutes longer (takes me about 40 minutes to get to work in the AM and probably 1.25 hours to get home).  I’ve been going to the gym after work though to avoid rush hour.

2

Bathroom – so excited for a tub!

Because I’m stubbornly independent and have a skewed idea of the amount of “stuff” I have up here, I figured I could make the move by myself, super easy.  Well it wasn’t.  The one carload has turned into 3, and thankfully my new roommate has helped me move stuff in.  I know I’ve definitely downsized, but material items definitely add up.  I absolutely hate to inconvenience people, even my own family because I feel like I’m sometimes a burden.  So I like to do and deal with stuff on my own.  Next time, however, I will be asking for help!

3 thoughts on “Moving On

Leave a Reply

