DC Eats – Unum in Georgetown

For the New Year, my parents, who are way cooler than me, always try to do something fun.  This year, my mom “surprised” my dad with a trip to DC and a stay at Hotel Palomar, which is part of Kimpton properties, one of their favorite boutique hotel chains.  Being the thrifty people we are, my mom got a great deal on their room through a budget travel website.  Kimpton properties are awesome, but really expensive.  Why are Kimpton properties awesome?  Because everyday from like 5-7 pm they have a happy hour for guests – unlimited wine, food, and even hot toddys!  Also, all the rooms are awesomely decorated, as in, if I ever have a place of my own one day, I want my room to look like one of the Kimpton rooms.

While I didn’t ring in 2013 with the parents, I did meet up with them in Georgetown for dinner one day before New Years’ Eve.  We originally planned to go to an Italian restaurant, but it was closed for a private function.  We ended up going to Unum, which I found on Yelp (read the Yelp reviews!).  This place was delicious and uses really fresh ingredients.  It’s listed as New American Cuisine.  The restaurant is pretty small so we ended up eating at the bar since we didn’t have reservations.

We started with some cheese and charcuterie – ended up getting a mild cow’s milk cheese called “Grayson” and an American prosciutto from Iowa.  The cheese was delicious, and the prosciutto was yummy, but not as good as the kind I recently had in Italy.  We also started with an oyster appetizer which had six oysters done three ways.  For $12, it was a little expensive, but it was an interesting take on the traditional oyster preparations.  I was so hungry I sadly didn’t take pictures of the apps.

Our meals were excellent.  I ended up going with the small plate of the Boneless Short-Rib Pasta.

2012-12-30 19.52.48
Short-Rib Pasta

The small plate was $10 and was plenty for me!  It was so yummy and flavorful – a very hearty dish, and the braised short-ribs melt in your mouth.  I also ordered two sides, Creamy Truffle Mac and Cheese and Tuscan Kale with Pomegranate Seeds, which were $6 each.  I have to note that the kale with the pom seeds was a great idea – a little sweetness to counter the semi-bitter taste of kale.

2012-12-30 19.53.10
Creamy Truffle Mac & Cheese
2012-12-30 19.52.58
Tuscan Kale & Pom Seeds (and the pesto bread dip that I demolished)

The parents both got the Rockfish – it came with oysters, but I’m not really sure what kind of sauce this was.  I’m guilty of stealing some fish from their plates – it was really light, but extremely flavorful.  Also, a huge hunk of fish!  This was $24.

2012-12-30 19.52.25
Rockfish

I’m really glad we found this place, and I really liked the ambiance and vibe they had there.  It would be such a cute date-night restaurant, even though I don’t go on dates.  Haha.  I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking to eat out in Georgetown, but make reservations.

A lot of changes have come to Georgetown, for example the Georgetown Park Mall has been closed (temporarily?), and according to the dcist, there are some rumors that the developer might make it into a bowling alley.  Weird!  There are some new shops, but I really think the fact that it isn’t metro accessible has hurt business here!  Just my personal opinion.  There also are not a lot of restaurants here to chose from – you would think there would be more of a selection.

We also walked by Washington Harbour and saw some pretty Christmas lights and an ice skating rink!

2012-12-30 18.30.07
Washington Harbour Ice Rink in panoramic
2012-12-30 22.14.46
Dad & Mom

Glad I got to spend some time with the parents and enjoy great food while in the city 🙂

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

