FishBones – Gaudí’s Casa Batlló

At the end of every post, I’ll be noting the artist/song/playlist/Spotify radio station (check out Spotify if you haven’t!) that I’ve listened to while composing my post.  Maybe it can inspire you as well!

My decision to go to BCN was heavily influenced by the works of an extremely eclectic Catalan artist, Antoni Gaudí.  This was his city and he is noted for modernist works like Casa Batlló, La Sagrada Familia and Park Güell.

I first learned about Gaudí in high school Spanish class, and for some unexplainable reason, I really appreciated his quirky art and architecture.  Possibly because I’m a quirky gal myself?  I really respect him for doing things “different”.  I also think it’s interesting that La Sagrada Familia, conceived and started over 100 years ago, is still a work in progress and visitors can actually witness the progress and construction that goes on today.  I hope to dedicate an individual post about my experiences at three of Gaudí’s works – Casa Batlló, La Sagrada Familia and Park Güell.

Here goes Post #1:

Casa Batlló (House of Bones) – 43, Passeig de Gràcia

IMG_1830
Casa Batlló at night

I think one of the reasons I connect with Casa Batlló is because I grew up watching Casper: The Friendly Ghost.  I’m pretty sure I watched this VHS tape on repeat because I was one of those kids.  If you’ve ever seen this children’s movie, you might remember that the “haunted house” actually has similarities Gaudí’s modernist style from the way the rooms have a curvy feel to the stained glass.  Anyways, I thought that was the coolest house before I even learned about Gaudí!

IMG_1808
Quirky doorway in Casa Batlló
IMG_1804
The foyer staircase – supposed to look like the spine of a fishy!

If you go to Casa Batlló, which was constructed in 1877 for the Batlló family, you’ll learn that Gaudí’s inspiration was the sea and nature.  The “bones”, which you can see on the balcony railings, are actually reminiscent of fish bones.  When you venture to the roof, you’ll find the mosaic tiles on the roof resemble the scales of some reptilian creature.

IMG_1827
Venture to the roof – not only will you get to see the mosaic reptile, but you’ll get a great view of Passeig de Gràcia
IMG_1810
Don’t you just feel like you’re in the sea?

The house avoids use of straight lines, and there’s a lot of emphasis placed on organic elements.  Since I’m not an art expert, and I don’t really remember everything the audio tour said, you should probably visit the Casa Batlló website if you want more (accurate) information.  Or hey, just visit!

IMG_1813
The Batlló Family
IMG_1809
Lights!

Tickets can be purchased in advance through the Casa Batlló website and then printed off on these ATM/Ticket Vending Machine things that are located all throughout BCN.  Apparently the line can get pretty long, especially in peak season, so I’d suggest looking into booking them in advance if you’re traveling in the late-Spring/Summer/early-Fall.  Since I went in the semi-off season, I went around 4 pm and waited about 15 minutes to purchase a ticket.  After you purchase the ticket, there is immediate entry.

If you’re an adult, tickets cost 20.35 euro, but I’m still technically a “student” in the fact that I still have my student ID and take full advantage of student privileges.  It will be a sad, sad day when/if I lose my student ID.  I ended up paying 16.30 euro for admission.  Just fyi, Casa Batlló takes credit cards.

I’d really recommend visiting Casa Batlló if you’re ever in BCN.  I enjoyed that I was able to move through the house at my own pace with my audio tour and appreciate it all in my own time.  One of the perks of traveling alone – you get to do things at your own speed!  Casa Batlló, and Gaudí’s works in general, were some of my bucket list – things I wanted to see – so you can imagine my excitement and happiness about crossing these magnificent works off the list!

Happy Traveling!

Currently Listening: Imagine Dragons – Continued Silence EP

One thought on “FishBones – Gaudí’s Casa Batlló

Leave a Reply

